Welcome to the Literature and Culture of Cyberspace Class Blog.

Every week, you will be expected to blog here. Respond to each assignmentcomputer_4.gif by clicking on the “comments” link (until someone posts the first comment, it’ll read “no comments”). The assignments will vary – between responses to your readings, thoughts about class discussions, and other assignments. So be sure that you check this blog before each and every class!

I expect you to also engage your fellow classmates in discussions. Be sure to read the comments that precede yours so that you are not merely reiterating a point that has already been made, but are rather adding to, enriching, and expanding the discussion that is taking place.

I am more concerned about quality of writing than quantity. In other words, I will not ask that you write a certain length or amount, but am rather more interested that your responses are critical, thoughtful, and well articulated.

In order to receive credit, you must put your first name on all posts and enter the email address to which you want to receive your grades for each post. I respond to all posts via email to whatever email address you enter, with grades, so be sure to enter the email address you use most often.

Adding additional resources and comments will be looked upon favorably, when the time comes to turn in final grades, and could be particularly useful for those who may need an extra boost at the end of the semester (hint, hint). HOWEVER, adding websites and resources WILL NOT replace your required weekly journal responses. If you are experiencing problems with this online discussion board, please inform me immediately.

* If, after your first or second posting, you do not see your blog post right away, it’s because it has probably gone into moderation (for me to approve), so don’t panic. After a few postings, the blog will then begin to automatically accept your posts without the need for moderator approval.

Please click on “comments” below and acknowledge that you read this blog post; this will also enable me to be sure that posting is working for everyone. Don’t forget to include your first name and email address.

11 responses to “

  1. Hey, just blasting one in as per the instructions. Gave you my last initial because it looks like there’s two Pauls. Looking forward to class tonight.

  2. Great, Paul – thanks for the post. See you tonight.

    Kristin

  3. Not only am I commenting to acknowledge that I have read this blog post, I’m also quite excited to start blogging.
    – Alex

  4. very cool! thanks for the post!

  5. Hey all just making sure that my posts are working. After the first day of class it looks like it will be everything advertised… and above all else absolutly fascinating!

    laters Tom H.

    FYI: if we’re longed on via our wordpress login, do we still need to add our email address each time?

  6. I think you might have to still put in your email address (because when it comes to my inbox, that is what enables me to then just hit reply — so I can send comments and grade). You can try posting without it, and I’ll see if I can still email you from my inbox when I get the comment.

  7. Just popping in to say I read the blog, and to make sure everything works……

    -Corey

  8. Hi I joined this class late but printed out all the online readings and read the blog. Thanks!

  9. Testing 1 2 3.

    Oh, and I read the blog/

  10. Yes, I read the blog. See you all on Tuesday.

  11. testing…testing…check check check

Leave a Reply

